psiloritis geopark

The Global Geoparks Network

The Global Geoparks Network was created in 2004 under the auspices of UNESCO to promote the protection of geological heritage and geotourism around the world. Since 2014, it has been operating in the form of a non-profit international association based in Paris.

With the proclamation of Madonie in 2004, all members of the European Geoparks Network automatically became members of the Global Geoparks network. Following the creation of the International Geosciences and Geoparks Program, in order for an area to be recognized as a UNESCO Global Geopark, it must become a member of the Global Geoparks Network.
Today, the Global Geoparks Network, in collaboration with UNESCO, is promoting the development of geoparks on all continents and the creation of other continental networks.

The continental networks that operate are:
The European Geoparks Network
The Asian-Pacific Network
The Latin American-Caribbean Network
The North American Geoparks Network
The African Geoparks Network

The Global Geoparks Network currently has 195 members from 48 countries.